2017 AMA Championship Banquet Honors 2017 Champions

Posted on

The AMA honored champions and organizers alike, throughout its 2017 AMA Championship Banquet in Columbus, OH. 

Start Press Launch:

American Motorcyclist Affiliation honors 2017 champions

Athletes of the Yr, Sportsman of the Yr amongst these acknowledged

COLUMBUS, Ohio — The American Motorcyclist Affiliation acknowledged its best champions and hardest-working organizers from the 2017 season on Jan. 20 throughout the AMA Championship Banquet on the Hilton Downtown Columbus in Columbus, Ohio.

“The AMA and our chartered golf equipment and promoters symbolize probably the most expansive sanctioned motorsports exercise on this planet,” stated AMA President and CEO Rob Dingman. “The riders, racers and households on this room are the individuals who convey the eagerness, expertise and dedication to make that attainable.

“The AMA is greater than an occasion sanctioning physique,” Dingman continued. “We’re the main advocacy group for motorcycling and ATV using in America. We assist all types of motorcycling — from organized occasions to informal using. We shield the freedoms of motorcyclists and ATV riders from overreaching legal guidelines. We negotiate offers and reductions for our members. Via the AMA Motorbike Corridor of Fame, we protect the historical past of the game. And after I say ‘we,’ I imply all of us — together with the AMA members on this room tonight.”

The night’s program was emceed by Laurette Nicoll and Kevin Kelly.

Cody Webb of Royal Oaks, Calif., was acknowledged because the AMA Athlete of the Yr from Nationwide Championship Collection competitors.

Webb earned the nationwide No. 1 plate within the AMA Endurocross Nationwide Championship Collection and the Excessive Enduro Professional class on the AMA Tennessee Knockout Excessive Enduro Grand Championship. He has received Tennessee Knockout 5 straight years.

READ ALSO  American Motorcyclist Affiliation Mourns Business Icon Tom White

Along with his competitors successes, Webb mentors youthful riders.

“I used to be lucky to have the ability to invite among the up-and-coming riders within the sport to go to my house for some time,” he stated. “We rode collectively. And I feel we realized from one another. It’s a approach to assist preserve this sport rising.”

Attending the ceremony was Rose Hayden, the mom of 2006 MotoGP World Champion Nicky Hayden, who tragically handed away in 2017. The Government Committee of the AMA Board of Administrators handed a decision final yr to call the celebrated AMA Horizon Awards after Nicky.

AMA Horizon Awards are offered to up-and-coming newbie racers in motocross, highway racing and filth monitor who show they’ve the expertise, dedication and poise to excel within the skilled ranks.

Nicky Hayden received the primary AMA Horizon Award ever offered — the 1997 AMA Filth Observe Horizon Award.

Mrs. Hayden offered the Nicky Hayden AMA Highway Race Horizon Award to Joseph Blasius of Northville, Mich., and the Nicky Hayden AMA Filth Observe Horizon Award to Hunter Brooks of Escalon, Calif.

The 2017 AMA Athlete of the Yr from Grand Championship occasions was Justin Cooper, AMA Motocross Horizon Award Winner and AMA Newbie Nationwide Motocross Championship. Cooper was unable to attend the banquet, however shared his gratitude in a video acceptance speech.

Tayla Jones, who moved to North Carolina from Australia final yr, was introduced because the AMA Feminine Racer of the Yr. She was the 2017 WXC Champion from the AMSOIL AMA Grand Nationwide Cross Nation Collection, the Girls’s Professional General Champion from the AMA Full Fuel Dash Enduro Championship Collection, and the Girls’s Elite Champion from the AMA Nationwide Enduro Championship Collection.

READ ALSO  5 New Full Gaz Bike Merchandise Have Arrived For February Assessment

“I couldn’t have had a greater yr, actually,” Jones stated. “It’s been my dream since I used to be a bit of child to race in America.”

The 2017 AMA Vet Racer of the Yr was Destry Abbott, who dominated his class within the 2017 AMA Endurocross Nationwide Championship Collection. Abbott was unable to attend the banquet, however despatched an acceptance video.

The 2017 AMA Youth Racer of the Yr was Ty Masterpool, who’s the Supermini 1 (12-15) Champion and Supermini 2 (13-16) Champion from the Rocky Mountain ATV/MC AMA Newbie Nationwide Motocross Championship. Ty was not in a position to attend the ceremony.

Prime-three finishers have been acknowledged from six regional championships and 21 nationwide championships, representing all disciplines of AMA-sanctioned competitors.

Along with the competitors awards, in a few years the AMA acknowledges the AMA Sportsman of the Yr. AMA Sportsmen of the Yr could also be ambassadors, opponents, promoters or others who go above and past to raise the game or show distinctive equity or selflessness in AMA-sanctioned exercise.

The 2017 AMA Sportsman of the Yr was Jody Barry. On the Daytona 200 in March, a fellow rider crashed and was trapped beneath his burning bike. Barry stopped, lifted the crashed bike and freed the rider.

“I had gone down, too, and I used to be going to get my bike after I noticed him waving at me,” stated Barry, who was the 2016 recipient of the AMA Horizon Award in highway racing. “I noticed that his bike was on fireplace and he was caught there, so I needed to elevate up the bike a bit of bit and drag him a bit of bit to get him free.”

READ ALSO  Two Fans Podcast #67 – Piano Tuners

Sponsors and supporters of the 2017 AMA Championship Banquet included Brush Hero, Movement Professional, Maxima, Rocky Mountain ATV MC, IMS, Bridgestone, My Laps, Riders of Kawasaki, Feld Leisure, Spot LLC, Iron Pony, Mechanics Put on and Ask Powersports.

Different award winners introduced on the banquet have been:

AMA Motocross Organizer of the Yr
2X Promotions

AMA Off-Highway Organizer of the Yr
North American Trials Council

AMA Observe Racing Organizer of the Yr
WERA Motorbike Roadracing

AMA ATV Organizer of the Yr
Western New York Off-Highway Affiliation

AMA Leisure Highway Driving Organizer of the Yr
Better Akron M/C

AMA Leisure Off-Highway Organizer of the Yr
Penguins Motorbike Membership at Cal Poly

AMA Membership of the Yr
Christian Motorcyclists Affiliation

AMA Media Award
Brian J. Nelson of Flagstaff, Ariz.

قالب وردپرس

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *